top of page

Union County

Union County, located in northeastern New Mexico, is a region characterized by its rural charm and diverse landscapes. Encompassing small towns such as Clayton, Des Moines, and Folsom, the county serves as a hub for agriculture and ranching activities. The county seat, Clayton, is a focal point for the area's administrative and economic activities. Union County is known for its historical significance, particularly in relation to the Old West and the expansion of railroads. The Herzstein Memorial Museum in Clayton preserves and shares the local history, providing insights into the cultural heritage of the region. The county's natural beauty is accentuated by the vast High Plains and is complemented by attractions like Capulin Volcano National Monument in Folsom. Union County, with its small-town charm, agricultural legacy, and historical landmarks, offers visitors a glimpse into the rich tapestry of life in northeastern New Mexico.

bottom of page