wind turbine sunset.jpg

About Us

The Eastern Plains Council of Governments (EPCOG) is a voluntary association of county and municipal governments within the seven counties of Planning and Development District 4. EPCOG is an organization of, by and for local governments and was established in 1972 to assist in planning for common needs, and coordinating for sound regional development.

The Eastern Plains Council of Governments offers assistance to counties, cities, towns, and villages with planning and Economic Development, Community Development Block Grants (CDBG), Capital Outlay and other funding requests and Infrastructure Capital Improvement Plan (ICIP) development.



EPCOG is made up of local governments in seven counties in Eastern and Northeastern New Mexico. Those counties which make up District 4 are Curry, De Baca, Guadalupe, Harding, Quay, Roosevelt, and Union. Local municipalities located within these counties are Clovis, Melrose, Texico, Grady, Ft. Sumner, Vaughn, Roy, Mosquero, Logan, Tucumcari, San Jon, Causey, Dora, Elida, Portales, Folsom, Clayton, and Des Moines.

EPCOG has assumed specific program responsibilities in several program areas. Transportation, Housing, Economic Development and Community Development have been established as primary EPCOG programs. These programs and services are provided under contract with state and federal agencies or private sector entities.